Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2015 – The Winners


If ever there was any doubt of the contribution that New Zealand artists have made over the past twelve months, tonight’s Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards (VNZMAs) did a grand job in showcasing and celebrating the impressive scale of talent that the Kiwi music scene has to offer.

Boasting electric performances from winners Gin Wigmore, Marlon Williams and Janine and the Mixtape, and an audience that included Fleetwood Mac who are here for the latest leg of their On With The Show tour, it was brother and sister duo Broods who stole the show taking home no less than four VNZMAs in the major award categories, adding to their 2014 Tui for Best Breakthrough Artist.

Check out the full list of 2015 VNZMA winners below.

Album of the Year
Winner: Broods – Evergreen [album review here]
Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
Shihad – FVEY
Six60 – Six60
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Single of the Year

Winner: Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat
Avalanche City – Inside Out
Marlon Williams – Dark Child
Six60 – White Lines
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Best Group

Winner: Broods – Evergreen
Shihad – FVEY
Six60 – Six60

Best Male Solo Artist

Winner: Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
Stan Walker – Truth & Soul
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Best Female Solo Artist

Winner: Gin Wigmore – Blood To Bone
Anika Moa – Queen At The Table
Brooke Fraser – Brutal Romantic

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Winner: Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
Devilskin – We Rise
Ginny BlackmoreLove Me Anyway

Best Rock Album
Winner: Shihad – FVEY
Cairo Knife Fight – The Colossus
Devilskin – We Rise

Best Pop Album

Winner: Broods – Evergreen
Benny Tipene – Bricks
Six60 – Six60

Best Alternative Album
Winner: Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love
Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
She’s So Rad – Tango

Best Urban / Hip Hop Album

Winner: Janine and The Mixtape – XX
Diaz Grimm – Osiris
The Doqument – Blank Canvas: Wall & Piece

Best Roots Album
Winner: Trinity Roots – Citizen
Latinaotearoa – Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
Moana and the Tribe – Rima

Best Electronica Album
Winner: Electric Wire Hustle – Love Can Prevail
Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats – SSXUB
Sola Rosa – Magnetics

Best Music Video
Winner: Shahir Daud – Cymatics (Nigel Stanford)
Reuben Bonner – Her Heart Breaks Like A Wave (Dictaphone Blues)
Shae Sterling – Aotearoa (Stan Walker feat Ria Hall, Troy Kingi & Maisey Rika)

Best Maori Album
Winner: Ranea – Tihei Mauri Ora
Moana and the Tribe – Rima
Whaia and The Mahician – Whaia

Best Worship Album
Winner: LIFE Worship – Through The Fire
Edge Kingsland – Edge Kingsland Presents: Seven Days
We, The Revival – We, The Revival

Best Classical Album
Winner: Michael Houstoun – Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas
Jack Body – Passing By
Jack Body – Songs Of Death and Desire

Highest Selling Album
Winner: Sol3 Mio – Sol3 Mio

Devilskin – We Rise
Six60 – Six60
Broods – Evergreen
Lorde – Pure Heroine

Highest Selling Single
Winner: Savage and Timmy Trumpet – Freaks
Six60 – Special
Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat
Broods – Mother & Father
Six60 – So High

Radio Airplay Record Of The Year

Winner: Broods – Mother & Father
Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat
Six60 – Special
Benny Tipene – Step On Up
Broods – L.A.F.

International Achievement

Vodafone People’s Choice Award

NZ Herald Legacy Award
The Exponents

Best Album Cover
Winner: Kelvin Soh – Evergreen (Broods)
Alt Group – FVEY (Shihad)
Barny Bewick – The Colossus (Cairo Knife Fight)

Best Producer
Winner: Sean Donnelly – Saint John Divine (SJD)
Clint Murphy – We Rise (Devilskin)
Joel Little – Evergreen (Broods)

Best Engineer
Winner: Lee Prebble and Oliver Harmer – Drylands (Mel Parsons)
Evan Short – FVEY (Shihad)
Clint Murphy – We Rise (Devilskin)

Best Pacific Music Album
Winner: Cydel – Memoirs of a Midnight Cowboy
Team Dynamite – Shepherds Delight
Fiafia Band – Siva Siva Maia

Best Country Album
Winner: Tami Neilson – Dynamite!
Delaney Davidson and Marlon Williams – Sad But True, Vol. 3
Glen Moffatt – Superheroes and Scary Things

Best Folk Album
Winner: Great North – Up In Smoke
Flip Grater – Pigalle
Rachel Dawick – The Boundary Riders

Best Jazz Album
Winner: Dog – Dog
The Jac – Nerve
Jonathan Crayford – Dark Light

Best Children’s Album
Winner: fleaBite – The Jungle is Jumping
Poppet Stars – Poppet Stars
Itty Bitty Beats – Bathtime

Have your say below or join us on Facebook:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s